Archive for April, 2007

Charles Saunders, a regular contributor to REH: Two-Gun Raconteur and The Chronicler of Cross Plains, recently updated his second Imaro book, The Quest for Cush. The book is available from Amazon.com or your favorite bookseller. Here are the details:

The Quest for Cush is the second book in Charles Saunders’ series of African inspired heroic fantasy. It begins with the reunion of Imaro, and his kidnapped lover Tanisha, who has been taken to the ruined City of Madness. With the help of their new found friend, Pomphis, a Pygmay from the eastern forests of Nyumbani, they learn of the sorcerous forces that may have been behind the dark wizard that destroyed Imaro’s youth.

The trio go to Mavindi, the port capital of the Eastern Coastal kingdom of Azania, in search of the legendary Kingdom of Cush, where Imaro hopes to find answers to the questions that have plagued his life. Who is he? Who was his father, and why was he seemingly cursed, and hounded from birth by forces beyond his control.

This volume further expands the world of Nyumbani, detailing the eastern coastal kingdoms, and also expands the spiritual side of the world, revealing even more of the fantastic forces that are in play in the world of Nyumbani, and their relationship to Imaro.

Cover art by Vince Evans.

This entry filed under Charles R. Saunders, News, Sword & Sorcery.

Paizo Publishing will be publishing a new edition of Robert E. Howard’s sword and planet classic, Almuric. Howard’s Almuric is a savage planet of crumbling stone ruins and debased, near-human inhabitants. Into this world comes Esau Cairn, Earthman, swordsman, murderer. Only he can overthrow the terrible devils that enslave Almuric, but to do so he must first defeat the inner demons that forced him to abandon Earth. Filled with vile beasts and thrilling adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Otis Adelbert Kline, Almuric is a novel that was left uncompleted and finished by another, unknown author. However, it is still an excellent yarn from one of America’s most distinct literary voices. Pre-orders are being taken at the Paizo website.

This entry filed under Howard's Fiction, News.

Rusty Burke recently annouced the stories and poems included in Volume 1, Crimson Shadows. Verse is in shown in italics:

“The Shadow Kingdom”
“The Ghost Kings”
“The Curse of the Golden Skull”
“Red Shadows”
“The One Black Stain”
“The Dark Man”
“The Marching Song of Connacht”
“Kings of the Night”
“Recompense”
“The Black Stone”
“The Song of a Mad Minstrel”
“The Fightin’est Pair”
“The Grey God Passes”
“The Song of the Last Briton”
“Worms of the Earth”
“An Echo from the Iron Harp”
“Lord of the Dead”
“Untitled: ‘You have built a world of paper and wood’”
“’For the Love of Barbara Allen’”
“The Tide”
“The Valley of the Worm”
“The Dust Dance: Selections, Version II”
“The People of the Black Circle”
“Beyond the Black River”
“A Word from the Outer Dark”
“Hawk of the Hills”
“Sharp’s Gun Serenade”
“Lines Written in the Realization That I Must Die”

Also included will be an essay on Howard by Charles Hoffman, Rusty Burke’s A Short Biography of Robert E. Howard (with a few modifications based on more recent findings or conclusions), and Notes on the Texts. Unlike other Wandering Star/Del Rey books, there will be no “marginalia” such as fragments, drafts, only complete stories and poems.

The artwork for these volumes is by Jim and Ruth Keegan, illustrators and writers of the superb The Adventures of Two-Gun Bob comic strip now appearing in all of Dark Horse’s Conan books.

The book will be available on July 31st and can be pre-ordered at Amazon.com.  

Also, Volume 2, Grim Lands, wil be published on November 27th.

The Robert E. Howard Foundation is publishing The Collected Letters of Robert E. Howard. This three-volume, limited-edition series collects all the known letters written by REH. The collection will include dozens of previously unpublished letters and hundreds of poems not found in any other collection.

The Collected Letters of Robert E. Howard reveal a side of Howard’s personality that readers of his fiction might not suspect existed. Full of humor, philosophical musings, travelogue, historical sketches, and opinions on contemporary politics and events — local, national, and international — Howard’s letters provide important insight into the life and times of one of the most influential pulp-era writers of the twentieth century.

This three-volume set collects more than 330 letters, from the early ones to Howard’s death in June 1936.  Full Ordering details can be found here.